Hike-A-Thon – Truly Giant Trees

I wrapped up my week in Montana and took one last hike before heading home for miles on our Washington trails.  Since Scot was not with me, I was pretty limited in trails. It can be pretty wild and woolly here in Western Montana, and there are many things larger and more dangerous than me in the woods.  I opted for a favorite family hike, one that is on the list every time we visit the lake – Ross Creek Cedars. Even though I’ve seen bears in here before (from the safety of my car), I opted to take the short nature trail in the quiet hours of the morning before people were stirring in the cabin.

Now there’s an interesting thing.  I never noticed before that there was another trail access in here.  In fact, there are another 7 miles of trails off the back side of the nature loop.  I will have to put that on my list for next year, with company.

The Ross Creek watershed contains a small grove of some truly gargantuan Western Red Cedar trees.  Cedars are a common sight on hikes in Western Washington, but they are not nearly so common in the forests of western Montana, where the trees are largely Ponderosa Pine, larch, fir, and spruce.  I always was amazed that this little grove of them was here, and they have been here for a very long time.  The little interpretive trail provides a comprehensive education on the lives of these trees.  You will see them tiny and growing from nurse logs, and you will see them huge, hollow, blackened by lightning.

This is actually one of the smaller trees, hit by lightning while fairly young. Still, I can fit inside and look out through the top of the snag.

Growing up, we used to play games in here? How many people can we fit in that hollow one?  How many people does it take to encircle that giant with our arms? Hide and seek, anyone? Year after year, I amazed at the sheer size of these giants.

A fun exercise, taking your own picture without a tripod…

Even so, it isn’t just about the trees.  Lovely Ross Creek winds through, ending at a falls further downstream.  The water flows noisily through here in the spring, and in later summer, sometimes the creek beds are dry.  I see a previous walker has taken advantage of a dry summer gravel bed, leaving an offering for us to enjoy.

Footsteps are muffled on the age-old, deep duff.  If you walk quietly, nature goes about its business.  One family member recently discovered her first American Dipper in here.  Sometimes, I hear a marmot chirping in the talus slopes that line the trail.  Today, an angry wren scolds me for passing through.

Hard to take a sharp picture in the dark gloom of this deep forest.

Everybody finds their own inspiration here.  I like the wildflowers.

Pearly Everlasting, sometimes called Pussy Toes. I used to pick these (along with hawkweed and bachelor buttons) and hang them upside-down in my grandma’s closet until they were dry.

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration, Photography, Plants and Nature

Leave a Reply

